POETRY…..

by tunnelmental

 ad junky coke world

ADVERTISING JUNKIE

FREEZE FRAME ON STARVING MILLIONS AND SELL US DAILY BREAD

YOU SELL US SHORT NO PAUSE FOR THOUGHT AND KICK US IN THE HEAD

A BIGGER CAR, A BRAND NEW HOME, AN ORTHOPEDIC BED

A NEUTRON BOMB, A TELETHON, AN OFF SWITCH FOR MY HEAD.

GET ANOTHER FIX, TAKE ANOTHER SHOT, I’M YOUR ADVERTISING JUNKIE, I’M TAKING WHAT YOU GOT.

A STYLE, A SMILE, A GOLDEN MILE, A REASON TO SURVIVE

CONSUMER GENERATION GAME, REMINDS ME I’M ALIVE

YOU SELL ME REVOLUTION, SOFT FOCUS CAMERA THREE

A MONOCHROME REMINDER OF HOW IT USED TO BE

INVESTMENT IN THE FUTURE, NOSTALGIA IS THE KEY

YOU FEED ME WAR AND GLORY BOYS AND SWEETNESS FOR MY TEA.

GET ANOTHER FIX, TAKE ANOTHER SHOT, I’M YOUR ADVERTISING JUNKIE, I’M TAKING WHAT YOU GOT.

 

A KARAOKE JOKER SAID ALL GOOD MEN ARE FREE

I WANT MINE, I’LL STAND IN LINE, THIS WORLD BELONGS TO ME

I OWN THE RADIATION, POLLUTION OF THE SEA

THE ACID RAIN, THE TOXIC WASTE, THE GARBAGE ON TV

THE SMILING POLITICIAN, THE HOOKER AND THE QUEEN

I OWN THEM ALL, THEY WORK FOR ME, I AM YOUR TV SCREEN.

GET ANOTHER FIX, TAKE ANOTHER SHOT, I’M YOUR ADVERTISING JUNKIE, I’M TAKING WHAT YOU GOT.

